Amagi Brilliant Park (2014)

After not having seen any anime for a rather long while due to a very horrible sickness basically making both my head and ears as useless as those on a deaf-mute in an insane asylum, I was hungry for a comedy anime to help me take my mind of my health-related worries.

So I had decided to watch Nanatsu no Taizai (The Seven Deadly Sins). Five episodes in, I had to stop watching because, apparently, I’d forgotten to download episodes 6 and 7. Then I got really mad with myself for that colossal mess-up which I couldn’t readily fix because, well, my internet had the downs.

vlcsnap-2028-08-27-06h01m42s612.png
When I realized my mistake with Nanatsu.

Naturally, the hunger hadn’t been sated so I began sniffing through all the other numerous folders in my PC where I could have downloaded an anime by accident and forgotten to watch it. Finally, I had managed to find Amagi Brilliant Park (along with its special episodes) in a folder containing Shoujo manga…

Ah, so I was hankering for a comedy manga. Yes! That’s right. Nanatsu no Taizai was coming along fine but could Amagi Brilliant Park prove to be better in that field? Well, that’s pretty much the only area where it excels.

Synopsis from MyAnimeList: Kanie Seiya, a smart and extremely narcissistic high school student, believes that the beautiful but reserved Sento Isuzu has invited him on a date at an amusement park called Amagi Brilliant Park. Much to his chagrin, not only is the location a run-down facility, the supposed date is merely a recruitment tour where Sento and Princess Latifa Fleuranza, the owner of the theme park, ask him to become the park’s new manager. Their cause for desperation? As stipulated in a land-use contract, Amagi has less than three months to meet a quota of 500,000 guests, or the park will be closed for good and the land redeveloped by a greedy real-estate company.

Seiya is won over by the revelation that Amagi is no ordinary amusement park; many of its employees are Maple Landers—mysterious magical beings who live in the human world and are nourished by the energy created by people having fun. Entrusted with the hopes and dreams of this far-off enchanted land, Seiya must now use his many skills to bring Amagi back on its feet, or watch it crumble before his eyes.

As you can see from the synopsis, Amaburi (short for the whole name) is basically about how a non-musical highschooler Kanye West is coaxed into helping the management of the Amagi Brilliant Park bring in 250,000 visitors to meet the year’s 500,000 visitor quota or else the park would get shut down. That’s it. There are no twists or other huge plot developments that will make you go, “OOOoooooh kukukukuku! Naruhodo.” (Oh, hehehe! I see.) It’s just a straight-forward comedy about saving a failed business. If you want to give it funny title then ‘Theme Park Tycoon: The Anime: The Adaptation” will work quite nicely.

vlcsnap-1302-03-28-06h53m30s988.png
I know what he means.

Since this a full-on comedy show, no two shits are giving about backgrounds of the people who work in the park. Most of the characters are from some magical Disneyland called ‘Maple Land’ and you’re just expected to go with that. Hell, up till episode 6 I was still reluctant in accepting the ‘magical beings’ shtick because even Maple Land was treated as some recurring gag. Also, the tension created using plot devices pulled out of the arse of a rabbit in a top-hat doesn’t really help much. They seem like episodic afterthoughts – not planned to be in the story and therefore being very cheap.

vlcsnap-2750-08-22-18h28m59s925.png
Almost as cheap as this recurring gag where one of the girls always pulls out a gun whenever things get wonky.

Basically, what I’m saying is that the concept of Amaburi is neat but the story is just a mess. If you’re going in for the story then you’re in for a huge disappointment because this Kyoto Animation work follows in the vein of ‘K-On!’.

Thankfully, all I wanted from Amaburi was the funnies and I got it by the bucketfuls after the second episode when the jokes finally leave fan service territory. Hilarious skits about alcoholism; an episode in which Kanye falls sick and the three crazy mascot guys take turns filling in for him at school and making a huge love triangle fiesta, another episode where one of the mascots takes his trainees to an underground wrestling arena hosted by a kindergarten, and many weird skits involving references and mention of panties. I seriously needed the hard laughs provided by this show. Really made my day brighter. (I binged Amaburi).

vlcsnap-2882-08-16-22h15m58s814.png
The Furry jokes in the specials. Oh God. My sides were in orbit!

Just like any other comedy-focused anime, the characters of Amaburi belong in Dimension One. If someone’s a perv, then he’s likely to stay a pervert. Except for Tricen the Triceratops. He’s a very well written perverted dinosaur. The only character that gets any actual development is Kanye the MC and, to be honest, he’s the only one who deserves it seeing as this is a comedy and all.

The animation, in my opinion, isn’t anything special considering this is a KyoAni show. I need spectacularly beautiful cherry blossom petals and really smooth movement that’ll make scenes from this show a frequent pick for AMVs. I’m not saying the animation is bad – it’s actually pretty good. I’m just saying that KyoAni was just really tame with it and I don’t like that.

The music’s nothing special. Nothing to talk about here!

Overall, Amagi Brilliant Park gets a 7.25 out of 10 from me. If not for the story being literally all over the place and melodrama for the sake of melodrama, then this show could have been a smidge better. The scoring also largely suffers from the ‘magical’ ending which I really disliked. Still, it’s a fun show for the lols. Watch it if you want to binge a comedy while waiting for someone.

4 thoughts on “Amagi Brilliant Park (2014)

  1. I find Amagi a relaxing watch and it certainly has a few laughs. I didn’t mind the story all that much because they kind of stick to their inital goal and most events link to the idea of getting visitors in some way (or are an attempt to do so). It’s not a complex story but it holds together the gags.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really cared for the story, despite knowing full well that Amaburi was mainly a comedy show, because the anime went out of it’s way to use melodrama and unexplained plot devices to keep you interested – which it, quite frankly, had no need for. That really brought down my opinion of the overall show.
      So, the problem wasn’t the story being simple: there are just too many plotholes and unnecessary dramatic moments.

      (Sorry for the late reply, net issues are a pain)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

